Aniscorcia – Available Now!

Available now on Bandcamp, March 15 on iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, etc.

J. Anthony Allen has worn the hats of composer, producer, songwriter, engineer, sound designer, DJ, remix artist, multi-media artist, performer, inventor, and entrepreneur. Allen is a versatile creator whose diverse project experience ranges from works performed by the Minnesota Orchestra to pieces developed for film, television, and games. In his newest release, Aniscorcia, Allen continues to juxtapose traditional instruments with modern electronic dance music.
"In my last full-length project, Kinesthesia, I was primarily working with the string quartet and how I could intersect it with electronic elements int he context of chamber music. Aniscorcia swings the other way: I'm working mainly with electronic dance music, and incorporating strings, piano, and percussion into that music."
Allen's work is known for a radical blending of diverse influences. He is among a small group of people to have received a Ph.D. in music composition. Paradoxically, Allen's other influences live in the music of Aphex Twin, Autechre, Daft Punk, and others in the electronic dance music idiom. Aniscorcia blends both influences into an orchestral collision of sounds, emotions, and energy that embraces this breadth of styles. As a recent journalist point out: "[Aniscoricia is] dance music by a guy with a Ph.D. in music."

The first track to be release, Circadian, opens with an ethereal bell pattern, followed by a lush texture of orchestrated strings. In no short order the track is overrun with a thick, driving drum beat reminiscent of DJ Shadow's Entroducing. "This is a track about time, and our perception of it. Sometimes it feels like time is moving too fast, too slow, just right, or all three at once. That is what I'm going after with this track."

Aniscorcia will be released on March 1, 2015, on Allen's own Hackademica label. The album will be available in digital format from iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, and other digital outlets.

J. Anthony Allen lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Album Credits:
All tracks written, arranged, recorded, and produced by J. Anthony Allen.
Additional Production by Jacob Wagner.
Mixed by Jacob Wagner at No Shame Labs, NYC.
Mastered by Jacob Wagner at No Shame Labs, NYC.
Cover Art by Erin Belling

Track Listing
1. Exergasia [7:39]
2. Spacelines [4:25]
3. Circadian [6:37]
4. Time Givers [5:29]
5. The Wrong Day [3:37]
6. Asteroids [5:51]
7. 903 [6:38]
8. The Tens Man [5:50]
9. Rhondo [4:47]
10. Aporia [4:53]
11. Oneiric [7:15]
12. Lullaby [3:10]